A coastal village of architectural curios created by Clough Williams- Ellis in the early 20th century. He recycled ancient Mediterranean artefacts and 18th century features and built a shell pavilion facing the Irish Sea.
John Hanbury c 1784. Decorated by his wife Molly. Vaulted ceiling with 6 pillars. Walls decorated with wood, stalactites, crystals and local shells. Conches highlight the ornamental stalactites. Deer and sheep bones make up the floor patterns. Used as a hunting lodge and summer house until the mid 19th century. Restored in 1992-96.
The Shell House c1820 was part of a cottage ornee/ picturesque landscape. It was built by Morgan Jones Jr and uses over 13,000 shells in Gothic arch patterns. The bone and tooth floor is unique. Restored 2000-05 by The Temple Trust and shell artist Blott Kerr-Wilson.
Main House (1780) owned by the Ladies of Llangollen, Lady Eleanor Butler and Sarah Ponsonby. Visited by many literary figures including Byron, Wordsworth, Caroline Lamb and Sir Walter Scott. They landscaped a nearby dell that included a grotto (with font from Valle Crucis Abbey), bridges, Bower and Root House. Their graves are in St Collen's Church.
The Shell decoration is by Blott Kerr-Wilson ( 2004). Located in Denbighshire.